Excitement and Negligence

Blogging is hard. It’s hard because it makes you completely aware of when you aren’t doing as promised. I planned on making daily posts. Needless to say I failed. It’s not because I’m lazy. I am lazy, but it is not the cause. In fact I usually blog when I’m too lazy to write. When I write I make little time for other things. I should’ve known this would happen on this blog.  So where does this sudden boost of writing come from? It’s because I’m anxious and excited.

 

A few days ago I heard through the grapevine about a publisher interested in the genre I wrote. A friend of mine, Kal S Davian, was recently signed on with them as a writer. Since what I write is in the same vein, yet completely different, I wanted to convince this publisher I am a valuable talent.
That very day I started writing on a story tailored for their requirements.  I had played around with the story idea for the days before and I believed it was one of my better stories. So that very afternoon I started writing. From noon ’till midnight I wrote non-stop until I finally got to the end. 12 000 words in 12 hours, I’ve never written so much in so little time. After days of editing and proofreading I finally sent it in for review yesterday.

So I’m currently sitting here rethinking every error that still remains in the manuscript, cursing myself for things I forgot to say in my motivation and also checking my e-mails way too many times.

I will keep you updated on how things go. The reviewers take about 1 – 4 weeks to respond, but in the case of Kal they only needed 2 days.

If I get a negative expect the story to be published here. If I get a positive I will keep publishing here but now with the guidance of editors and mentor-ship of more experienced authors.

Enhanced by Zemanta
~ by Sander on October 21, 2012.

One Response to “Excitement and Negligence”

  1. Lol thanks for making me sound “awesome”. 😛

    I hope you get in, man. You deserve it. You have some great tales, and I can’t wait to see what stories you could produce.

Leave a Reply

 
