The Liebster Award.

What is this thing?

I’m not entirely sure what to think about the Liebster Award. I’m currently very new to blogging. However, after being nominated twice I decided to take a look at it. It seems like it is a chain of questions that you relay to your eleven favourite blogs. Well, I’ll do my best to do this now. I have been nominated twice but forgive me if I only link a few other blogs. I’ve yet to discover more. Both Trent Lewin and The Archetype nominated me.

Trent Lewin nominated me first with 11 questions:

  1. What keeps you writing when you have writer’s block?
    I try to get inspired by many other things: movies or stories and even tv-shows. Everything creative by other people gets me motivated.
  2. Most writers have a literary counterpart—a character from their stories who reflects themselves. Tell us about yours.
    When I write I try to shy away from obviously picking things from my real life. I end up doing it, for example in my next story I feature a farmer. I picked things from my youth which I spent on a farm.
  3. What are your passions?
    Reading and writing aside I enjoy videogaming and good televsion. My greatest passion is working with kids. I’m a volunteer at a few playgrounds, among them playgrounds with children with a disability. I just really enjoy being around children because I’m a big child myself.
  4. You’ve had a fight with your significant other and you want to fix things. What do you do?
    Everything in my power to set things right. My significant other is vital to the person I am. Without her I think I’d be lost. But the first step in fixing it would be to give her the space and time to calm down.
  5. What’s one injustice you see in the world that you would fix in a story?
    My biggest frustration is a religious hypocrisy in the world. I’m an open-minded atheist, I try not to preach my lack of religion and I respect differences I have with other people. I do believe there is a sort of, hypocrisy. Religion is sometimes used as a tool to achieve selfish goals. There are political and religious leaders who use religion to do injustice on to others. This, in my honest opinion, goes against any religious teachings. Whether they are Muslim, Jewish, Christian, Hindu or Buddhist, respect for others is vital. Those who cannot bring themselves to be respectful, because of their religious background, are hypocrites.
  6. If you could change one thing in your life, what would it be?
    Being able to spend more time with my girlfriend.
  7. What’s important to you at this point in time?
    Writing consistently, writing daily, writing well and enjoying it.
  8. Who is your hero/heroine?
    A fictional hero: the Doctor. He doesn’t approach people with any kind or preconception and always strives to do what is right even if it means making a hard choice. I know, I’m a geek.
  9. Do you make it a habit of telling others what you thought of their work, even if your experience wasn’t good?
    I give feedback if I feel like it can help them. Feedback is hard and it is rather scary to give it so I might go out of my way not to. But if I tell you something is good, I am being truthful.
  10. What is good will?
    Good will is to work hard to brighten up someone else’s day. No matter the tools at hand. Through writing, through being, a friendly hug or smile, a sweet hello, a tiny gift.
  11. What would it take for you to make friends with an old enemy?
    Having enemies is a pointless exercise in grudges. But if I had an enemy I’d probably fight him to the death and never forgive him. Unless whatever makes us enemies is no longer a factor.

The Archetype had a different set of questions for me:

  1. Batman Vs Iron Man?
    Tony Stark is a genius, he invents and builds himself. But he is weak. Alcohol will surely be the thing that defeats him and if he faces the Batman you can be sure that Iron Man will go under. When you look at Batman: he doesn’t run his company himself so he has time spend training, he is the world’s greatest detective and has designed gadgets to be able to face certain villains. A well-placed EMP would surely crash Iron Man before he could do damage. On top of that Bruce Wayne has more willpower than Iron ever will.
  2. Is there a difference between anime and cartoons?It depends on what you call cartoons and what you call anime. For example: Avatar: The Last Airbender could be considered a cartoon but it doesn’t fall into the general style of cartoons. I enjoy both. But anime seems to put story first while cartoons seem to put laughter first. I don’t think one is better than the other. But anime has a much wider audience.
  3. Eddart Stark Vs. Tywin Lanister?
    I’m sorry? You ask me who would win  a battle
    ? Let’s not forget Ned Stark lost his head after defying the Lannisters. The Northern traitor had what he had coming. All those who defy King Joffrey will suffer the same fate as the Lord of Winterfell. Now Tywin Lanister, Lord of Castelry Rock and Grandfather of the great King on the Iron Throne, he has fought many wars and he has always prevailed. I only have to have a bard sing the rains of Castamere to convince you of his victory. Tywin is a lion, he’ll always pay his debts and you can sure that when he roars, it will be deafening.
  4.  What is you favorite genre of literature/film?I absolutely adore a good fantasy book and I’m crossing my fingers for a great fantasy movie soon.
  5.  What do you want to do with your life?
    Write, Create, Enjoy.
  6. Why should viewers read your blog?
    Because I want to sell my books! And because I try to gather advice that is both interesting and relevant.
  7. Are you a jerk?
    I try not be a jerk. But you would have to ask other people to know the actual answer.
  8. Do you spend too much time on TV tropes?
    Hmm… I haven’t been there in a long time.. *And Sander was never heard of again.
  9. Have you completed the first draft of your current Novel/screenplay/short story/ research paper
    My next novelette, Why Wolves Fear Humans, is currently uploading on Amazon.
  10. Daleks or Cyber men?
    Cybermen are superior to Daleks in only one respect. They are better at dying.
  11. What is the first question, the oldest question in the universe, hidden in plain sight?*
    Doctor Who, DOCTOR WHO, DOC-TOR WHO! 

I nominate the following blogs:

  1. Gilshalev
  2. Jonathan William Strange
  3. The Daily Poon
  4. dmdoylebooks

And the following 11 questions:

  1. Do you deal well with negative feedback?
  2. What is one post of yours you think is over/underrated
  3. Why should people follow your blog?
  4. Why do you blog
  5. What is one thing you want to do but can’t yet.
  6. How does your dreamholiday look like?
  7. If you could give yourself a superpower, which one would you give?
  8. Most annoying celebrity.
  9. Favorite book/tv-show/movie?
  10. Best decision you ever made?
  11. Worst musician in the world.
Enhanced by Zemanta

~ by Sander on August 31, 2012.

8 Responses to “The Liebster Award.”

  1. Great answers! 🙂

  2. Good answers… wow these awards are a lot of work aren’t they.

  3. Thank you!

    Challenge accepted (http://gilshalev.com/2012/08/31/the-liebster-award/) 🙂

  4. Since you are a Doctor fan, which is your favorite season of “Doctor Who” since the relaunch? and episodes in particular?

    My answers are Season (Series) 3 w/ Martha, and “The Family of Blood” 2-parter and “Weeping Angels” for the specific episodes–though for vastly different reasons.

    • Hmmm, I really liked the 4th season because Donna was the perfect balance for the doctor. Favorite episode would be The Doctor’s Wife though.

      • 4th Season was strong, and I loved the 2-Part finally especially with all the stations of the TARDIS being occupied. As for the “Doctor’s Wife”, it was a great stand alone episode and you could definitely see Neil Gaimon’s hands all over it.

Leave a comment