Dealing with feedback.

I sit here waiting to be judged. That’s the point of a blog, isn’t it? I throw something into the world that resonates with how I feel and what I think and then I let it go. Like a piece of paper tied to a balloon it floats away for all to see. Then from time to time I get a like. A virtual pat on the back saying “You did well”. And from less time to time I get a comment. Those can be terrifying. I like being judged, in a way. I think I can improve from it. But the most horrific thing of all is when I get reviewed on amazon.

It happens very rarely. But it is still unavoidable. I’ll wake up, go to my author page and notice a review. Reviews are defining: a good one will mean more people buy my story while a bad one… well… Let’s not think about that.

There are many kinds of reviews, some are useful while others are pointless. Anyone who is into doing something artistic or creative knows the worst kind of feedback they can get is:

“It’s good”

or

“It’s bad”

Please, allow me to shout it out to everyone now. We are nothing with this kind of feedback. Obviously we want to know if you think it is good or bad but more importantly we want to know why. I’m now speaking for myself: but writing is a lonely job. You do it on your own and safe from getting feedback from people you ask feedback from, there are very little ways to know that what you are doing works. One of the reasons I blog is to create an audience I can ask for feedback. I’m open to all kinds of commentary on my writing style and I mostly find the negative ones more interesting.

How do I deal with feedback? I usually take all the feedback I get serious but I will avoid responding to feedback. Going into discussion with someone who just gave your story a one-star review is a stupid idea. It won’t make you look good. I tend to read feedback and look if I agree or disagree with it. I always try to learn something from it. Which isn’t always easy. Now go ahead and judge me. I’m just glad this place doesn’t have dislikes.

Enhanced by Zemanta
~ by Sander on August 30, 2012.

6 Responses to “Dealing with feedback.”

  1. A legitimate response to feedback – ask for clarification, especially if you’ve paid for it.

  2. I agree with your article and also have mixed feelings about being reviewed. As social networking propels into every facet of one’s life and as communication becomes exponentially easier, the quality suffers. It is easy to “like” something without stating reasons but at times, a simple “like” does suffice. When a person makes a statement or gives an update that does not need comment, individuals who “like” it are simply agreeing.

    I struggle with reviews for a myriad of reasons. Recently I read an article and saw the merit, but then read the reviews that quickly became mis-guided and veering away from the topic. In an attempt to write a review that dealt directly with the topic and pointed that previous comments failed to warrent review, more comments further from the topic ensued.

    Providing individuals with the opportunity to share a view on everything, without having to demonstrate some form of knowledge or experience and without having to show who they are, serves as a great loss to the process.

    I will read all responses and reviews but only engage in those that demonstrate an understanding of what was being stated and provide the opportunity to engage in a beneficial discussion of the subject matter.

  3. Ben Franklin said that it’s easy to avoid being criticized; just do nothing, say nothing and be nothing.

  4. Hey, I’ve nominated you for the Lieber Blog Award, just check out my recent post about it on my blog for the details

Leave a Reply

 
