One small death for a man, one giant loss for mankind.

Neil Armstrong

Cover of Neil Armstrong

I just recently heard the news of Neil Armstrong’s passing and I feel saddened. Not only because we have lost one of history’s greatest recent icons but because he has never seen man go further than the moon. I was born in the 90’s. I have missed the moment Armstrong set foot on the moon. Perhaps if I am very lucky I will see the marslanding. But I am from a generation that missed out on the great time of generation. Yet I seem to born too early for a second time of galactic exploration.  Maybe there is nothing out there for us to find. I don’t want to take that risk, though. We are humans who have the capacity to see more than we can imagine. We should do more than we can imagine.

Enhanced by Zemanta
~ by Sander on August 26, 2012.

4 Responses to “One small death for a man, one giant loss for mankind.”

  1. I am so sad about Armstrong dying. I was born in the late 80’s, and I feel the same way about our generation missing out on a lot of the space exploration (which seems to have ground to a slow and steady murmur). I was very intrigued by Curiosity, though (and impressed with the setup — I work in a robotics lab, so I loved the method), and I hope at some point we get to see people step on Mars.

    I also love your last two lines — very nicely said.

  2. Reblogged this on annananaers.

  3. I think of Mr. Armstrong as a good soldier. As awesome as the moon landing was; he is famous for being a guinea pig.

  4. Great title and a good article. I was born BEFORE the moon landing! No comments, please. I also wrote a blog on this subject and another Armstrong

    “Walking on the Moon.…Armstrong, Hero or Villain ?”

    Keep up the writing.

Leave a Reply

 
