Stuck

writer's block - crushed and crumpled paper on...

(Photo credit: photosteve101)

One full month I went without writing a valuable word. It wasn’t because I was busy or lazy or didn’t want to. I just couldn’t. At least that’s how it felt. I still had ideas buzzing around my head, still had the interest to keep going, but when I sat down to write my brain turned off. Writer’s Block is probably one of the most annoying things that can happen to a writer. I drafted a story during my block but I never felt happy with it. The truth is, I needed a rest.

But writing is like riding a bike. You might not ‘unlearn’ it but your bike will get rusty if you don’t take proper care of it. I needed to refresh my brain. I needed to fill it up with new things. I started with watching movies: Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Hugo, Memento, The Prestige, … All movies I had never seen before.

Then I moved on to books. I finally started reading the A Song of Ice and Fire books after seeing the show and really enjoyed them. Yet, whenever I sat down the write the story I felt like I should write, I blanked out. So TV-series it must be: my block came just in time for the new season of Breaking Bad, I also re-watched shows that had inspired me in the past.

In the end I came to realize one important fact: I wasn’t writing any-more. I sat down and took a look at my story. This was the story I wanted to write but I couldn’t write. I needed to change that, I had to write a story I wanted to write and I also was capable of writing. My story went from epic fantasy to urban fantasy or horror. I never considered that maybe fantasy isn’t the way to go for me. I hadn’t tried my hand on epic fantasy, yet. As soon as I did, though, I started to feel blocked. Maybe in the future I’ll craft my own worlds, but for now I am happy to craft inside existing ones.

Suggestions on dealing with future writer’s blocks are welcome!

Enhanced by Zemanta
~ by Sander on August 24, 2012.

2 Responses to “Stuck”

  1. Sometimes I feel the same way. Since I solely write epic fantasy/scifi, I try to watch a lot of scifi/fantasy films or comics. I say: “I have to keep my creativity meter full.” The brain needs to cool down and to be recharged, just like any power tool.
    But lately I have been running out of new content to watch, and that has been making it difficult for me. Some of my more recent writing has not been up to my usual standards.

    • Try non sci-fi and fantasy. Just give it a go. Check out Breaking Bad. It is the best show on tv atm. Yes, I include Game of Thrones. Game of Thrones is almost as good. It really got me into writing complex characters again. Let’s just say the show is riddled with parallels and foreshadowing.

Leave a Reply

 
